Brentano String Quartet with Hsin-Yun Huang, viola

Naumburg-winning ensemble returns for rare quintet program

Masters Series 1
October 1, 2017 – 7 p.m.
October 2, 2017 – 8 p.m.


Mozart: Quintet in E-Flat Major, K. 614
Brahms: Quintet in F Major, Op. 88
Mendelssohn: Quintet in B-Flat Major, Op. 87


Mark Steinberg, violin
Serena Canin, violin
Misha Amory, viola
Nina Lee, cello

About the the Brentano String Quartet

Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim. “Passionate, uninhibited and spellbinding,” raves the London Independent; the New York Times extols its “luxuriously warm sound [and] yearning lyricism.” Within a few years of its formation, the Quartet garnered the first Cleveland Quartet Award and the Naumburg Chamber Music Award; and in 1996 the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center invited them to be the inaugural members of Chamber Music Society Two. We welcome the Quartet back to Calgary for a unique program of quintets with violist Hsin-Yun Huang.

Brentano String Quartet website

Hsin-Yun Huang website

Concert Co-Sponsors

Homes by Avi

Louise & Marlin Moore

Buy tickets